CH  |  EN  |  CONTACT US

Today, the 4Cs of Diamond Quality is the universal method for examining the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world.
The 4Cs includes: Carat, Color, Clarity and Cut. These four features directly reflect the quality and the value of the cut diamond.
The 4Cs of diamond hold different proportion in the value of each diamond as following indicated. Carat occupies 40%, color, clarity and cut respectively makes up 20% of the total diamond value. Therefore, the carat (weight) of a diamond is not the only index for diamond price. In order to determine the price for a diamond, all of these four features should be taken into consideration.

Carat

The Carat is the standard unit of weight for diamonds and other gemstones. One gram equals to 5 carats, and one carat can also be divided into 100 points. Diamond weights greater than one carat is expressed in carats and GIA calculate to the hundredth decimal place. Diamond dealer always use its ‘points’ alone to indicate the weight of a diamond below one carat.

diameter:5.15mm

diameter:6.49mm

diameter:7.43mm

diameter:8.18mm

diameter:8.81mm

diameter:9.36mm

diameter:9.85mm

diameter:10.31mm

diameter:10.71mm

diameter:11.10mm

Color

Color refers to a diamond chromaticity color. The main categories are colorless (white), near colorless and faint yellow or brown. The whiter or more colorless of a diamond directly affect its price and quality. Diamond color is a primary factor for determining its value. The following diamond color are categorized into sections, actually the diamond-grading scale is more precise. Therefore, from the consumers’ perspective, it is important to pay more attention on the certificate provided by some shops. The different of diamond color designations vary largely on the final price.

D-E-F: ColorlessThese three color-grades are the highest and rarest color grade. The differences in color between D, E and F diamonds can only be detected by a gemologist in side-by-side comparisons, and rarely by the untrained eye.

G-H-I: Near ColorlessThese three color-grades are most popular due to the fact that diamond with these color grades has more price advantages. When mounted diamond with these colors on gold jewelry, which would exquisitely cover the tiny hint of yellow color and better reveal the quality of the diamond.

J-K-L-M: Faint YellowDiamond with these color-grades presents noticeable faint yellow color. The faint yellow color is more visible when looking into the diamond from side-face instead of face-up.

Click to view examples of different diamond color grades.

Clarity

A blemish is a flaw found on the outside surface of a diamond. This type of flaw can be polished away with excellent diamond design, in order to enhance the quality of the diamond.

As diamonds form in extreme heat and under great pressure, small crystals can become trapped inside. This is a common inclusion, which affecting the clarity grade and value directly. The 5 standards, which are size, the color, the amount, the types, and the range of different kinds of visible inclusions, are measurements for diamond inclusion. In other word, these 5 standard inclusion measurements would directly reflected on the final price. Along with the development of technology, and the improvement of diamond processing, people are trying to minimize the presence and location of these inclusions. For instance, using laser drilling to fetch out the inclusions, or fracture filling to enhance transparency of diamond. A tiny laser beam is used to drill into the diamond, tunneling-in to remove inclusions. The signs of laser drilling are visible under side-view magnification. But after the diamond was exquisitely mounted on the jewelry, the signs of leaser drilling are almost invisible from face-up. The diamond’s clarity is a description of its internal purity when viewed from under 10x magnification glass. Clarity refers to two aspects, which are small imperfections internal the diamond (called inclusions) and on its external (called blemishes).

There are six diamond clarity grades:

Cut

A diamond’s cut is crucial to the stone’s final fire and brilliance. There are three attributes of diamond cut, fire (when light enters a diamond is split into all the different colors of rainbow), brilliance (the scattering of white light from the internal and external of a diamond) and scintillation (the reflected light in a diamond as it moves). When a poorly cut diamond with improper proportions looks dull and dark because it allows light to escape out the bottom and side. If it is cut too shallow, light leaks out of the bottom, too deep and it escapes out of the side.

The beauty of an extraordinary diamond is not only about its physical character and photonic features, but also reflects the cut from skillful diamond cutters. There are three aspects have to be taken into consideration when grading the cut, which are the quality of polish on facets, the symmetry of its facet arrangement and proportions.

Polish:Polish refers to the quality of a diamond’s surface condition as a result of the polishing process. While the polish categories reflect polish features on the surface. High quality of polishing will leave little to no scratches and marks, while a poor polish can result in imperfections on the surface of the diamond. The quality of diamond polishing process will eventually affect the brilliance.

Symmetry:Symmetry refers to how precisely the various facets of a diamond align and intersect. When the facets of a diamond are well balanced and aligned, the stone has symmetry, which is vital for creating optimal brilliance and scintillation. In diamonds with extremely deep pavilions, the whole surface of the table appears to be darker creating a ‘nail head’.

Proportion:Diamond proportion refers to the relationship between the size, shape, and angle of each facet of a diamond. There are five common metrics used to evaluate the proportions of a diamond, which are depth percentage, table percentage, crown height percentage, pavilion angle and girdle thickness.

中文  |  English  |  联系我们

国际上用4C标准对成品钻石进行分级。
       这4C包括:克拉(Carat)、色彩(Color)、净度(Clarity)和切工(Cut)。4C标准直接影响到成品钻石的质量级别和价值。 
       四项指标各占每颗钻石的价格比重约为:克拉40% 色彩20% 净度20% 切工20%,所以克拉重量并不是钻石价格的绝对值,要综合评定4C指标来定夺一颗钻石的价值。

Carat  重量

克拉是钻石重量计量单位。1克=5克拉,1克拉=100分。对于1克拉以上的钻石,GIA计算到小数点后2位;而对于一颗重量小于1克拉的钻石,珠宝商通常直接用“分”来描述。

直径:5.15mm

直径:6.49mm

直径:7.43mm

直径:8.18mm

直径:8.81mm

直径:9.36mm

直径:9.85mm

直径:10.31mm

直径:10.71mm

直径:11.10mm

Color  颜色

指的是钻石所含的色度。钻石主要分为无色、白色和淡黄色。钻石所呈现出的黄色的深浅,直接影响钻石的质量和价值。因此,钻石的颜色是其经济价值中的首要因素。以下所给出的颜色都是以区间的形式划分的,但事实上每个颜色与每个颜色的等级划分是很明确的。其价格也是有很大的出入的,所以消费者在购买钻石产品的时候,要对商家所出示的一些证书上的等级划分多思考一些。

D-E-F(无色):这三种颜色级别是最稀有最昂贵的级别。用肉眼看上去是几乎看不出分别的。

G-H-I-J(近乎无色):这三种颜色是目前比较受欢迎的颜色级别,因为其具有价格上的优势。如果镶嵌在黄金的首饰上,可以巧妙的掩盖它细微的黄色而更好的显示钻石本身的质量。

K-Z(淡黄色):这几个级别的钻石已经很明显的表现出它的黄色,但是如果从钻石的侧面来观察它的颜色的话,淡淡的黄色会比从钻石的台面处观察更为明显。

鼠标划过查看不同钻石颜色等级

Clarity  净度

钻石的纯净度是依据钻石在10倍放大镜下观察的结果。它包括两个方面,即宝石内部原有的缺陷及加工过程中对钻石表明造成的破坏。钻石本身存在有不规则晶体而造成的瑕疵是可以经过后期的改造而改善的,这种瑕疵都是存在于钻石的表层,经过很好的方案设计后,可以在其表面打磨加工从而提高钻石本身的质量。

钻石的净度是取决于内含物,而内含物的存在直接影响到钻石的价值。为什么有些钻石要比同等的其它钻石要价值高,就是因为看它的内含物的大小,多少,以及所处的地方,或者要看其内含物颜色的深浅。换句话说,由内含物的5个标准来衡量钻石本身的价值,这5个标准就是数量,地方,大小,性质和颜色。随着高科技的发展,以及钻石加工技术的提高,人们试着用很多办法来改善纯净度,比如用激光技术提取内含物,或者植入填充物而提高钻石的透光度。被激光提取填充物后的钻石,从侧面可以清楚的看到。但是被巧妙的镶嵌后,从钻石的台面处看的话是根本看不出的。

钻石的净度大致分为以下六类:

Cut  切工

切割是决定钻石火彩和光泽的重要因素。切工可以从三个属性来解释,光泽(钻石整体对光线的反射),光辉(光谱涉入钻石的散射状况)和闪烁 (钻石晃动时反射光或闪光的情况)。一颗品质好的原钻,如果切工不好,都会令光线从底部溢出,从而也影响到这三个属性。当切工太深时,光线就会从它的底部溢出,钻石的亮度就会受损,而它的中心也因此变暗。 当切工太浅时,光线就会从它的亭部溢出,钻石的亮度也因此受损,火彩大打折扣。

一颗令人瞩目的钻石,它的美丽不仅仅是其固有的物理特性和光学特点,并且综合了能工巧匠的切割工艺,才让它最大限度的发挥出这些属性从而显示其综合性能。选择一颗钻石,在判断它的切割的好坏时要从三个方面来衡量:抛光,对称以及比例。

抛光:主要是指钻石的表面状况,抛光的等级则反应出钻石表面的光滑度。抛光质量的高低直接影响钻石的光学反应,在不平整的表面上,光线产生漫反射,造成钻石切面的表面暗淡无色,发出混浊不清或者比较暗淡的光线。

对称:是指钻石打磨后获得的各部分的围绕中心点的水平对称,即切面排列及相互的角度。即切面排列及相互的角度。较差对称性的钻石包括如尖底偏离中心,瓣面形状不良,额外瓣面等。一颗圆形钻石标准切割58个面,分别为台面(1),底小面(1),冠部主刻面(8),星刻面(8),上腰小面(16),下腰小面(16),亭面(8)。

比例:是研究钻石的树立面的标准,是说车工的刻面与外形之间的整体比例。它的衡量标准包括:桌面大小,冠部高度,底部角度。腰围百分比以及尖底大小。完美比例切割是由Marcel Tolkowsky在1919年所发现的,即台面所占比例为53%,冠部16.2%,底部43.1%。